RSS

Spam Bot

04 Nov

I haven’t been on twitter for ages, perhaps even weeks.  It has been sitting quietly open on my desktop just not used.  I have flicked by it a number of times and contemplated reading tweets but have refrained claiming that I just didn’t have time.  Occasionally I would check the direct messages that were sent my way – they are so few and far between that I really didn’t check often at all, I would wait for my email to notify me.

So to cut to the chase, I had a direct message from someone who I don’t often message so I thought I would check it out.  The message was asking ‘Is this you?’ with a link.  Now I have been in the local media of late and I was wondering if I had been discovered in the real world so I clicked on the link.  It took me to a page that said Twitter was busy, try again later.  As the dupe that I am, I did try again later, many, many times.  Eventually it took me to a different page, a page that I can’t really remember but I think referred to losing grip on reality – a fair description of my world of late.  I wondered if it was a subtle suggestion that I should take a step back and try to relax.  Of course before I replied, after checking the link a few million more times, I was sidetracked by life and promptly forgot all about Twitter.

The next time I thought about Twitter was again via email, saying I had more direct messages, this time from friends saying I was sending random messages.  It seems that my Twitter account has been infiltrated by an evil spam bot.  I have been sending out spam to people left right and centre and not only to people that I follow!  OOPS.

Of course I had no idea how to make it stop, I couldn’t appease the Twitter gods so I did what any good help desk operator recommends – Shut Down and Reboot.  Fingers crossed it has worked.  If not, any suggestions on how to remove a spam bot from Twitter?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 4, 2009 in randomness

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Spam Bot

  1. Bec

    November 4, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    local media … do tell … 🙂

     
  2. Ali

    November 4, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    Oh gawd. How terrible. Funny but terrible. No ideas but I hope it just magically gets better. That’s what I’d be counting on!

     
  3. lou

    November 5, 2009 at 9:34 am

    Definitely a fan of the turn off/turn on again trick. The modern day equivalent of a Fonzie kick.

     

Leave a Reply

 
