RSS

Grumpy Old Troll

29 Oct

That’s me, the grumpy old troll and I should live under a bridge.  I am not a very nice person these days.

I was just called upstairs to two very distressed children.  The cause of their distress – a moth that was flying around their room as a result of the balcony door being opened.  Instead of being all concerned about the kids fear I was annoyed.  I wanted to know why they were afraid of a moth, something that they would normally want to try and catch to make a pet, why were they so irrational.  Oh and why were they awake an hour after going to bed!  I was annoyed that I had to chase a moth around their room through all of their mess.  I was annoyed that it was me who had to fix things again.  Eventually I got the moth out of their room but not out of the house so I simply shut their door and said goodnight through the door and reminded them that they should be asleep already.  Then for good measure I reminded them that if they didn’t clean up the mess of their room tomorrow Halloween would be cancelled and stomped off downstairs.

When I got downstairs the realisation hit me – they are just kids, little kids, a 6 and 7 year old.  I really should show some more compassion and stop being a total bitch.  They aren’t the reason I am tired and irrational.  I really shouldn’t take out my annoyance on my family they don’t deserve it.  All this on top of being told by man-child that I am ‘officially nicer to the cat than I am to him’.  This grumpy old troll needs to climb out from under the bridge and morph into something that loosely resembles a person and ideally a person that can be a decent partner and parent.  Bring on the weekend and a slight possibility of sleep.

 
 

Tags:

2 responses to “Grumpy Old Troll

  1. Ali

    October 29, 2009 at 11:10 pm

    I find that sometimes I get so set in that mood that I really have to shake myself out of it and say to myself “enough”. It is hard being a Mum though. We are the only ones who “see” this mess or that thing that needs doing. Sometimes it feels as though the burden is all on your shoulders and the rest of them just swan about enjoying themselves. Bastards. It’s easy to get in a grump. I always find ‘forcing’ myself to go and give Beefy a big cuddle helps to snap me out of it too. Hope you feel better.

     
  2. FFG

    October 30, 2009 at 9:58 am

    Sounds like me on Tuesday. I made sure to get more sleep the last 2 nights & it is amazing how much it helped. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
