RSS

Normalish?

18 Oct

Well I am finally heading towards normal.  It is Sunday afternoon and all is quiet and dare I say ‘drama free’ in the house.  Girl-child and a friend are upstairs destroying playing quietly in her bedroom.  Boy-child is outside playing wii with our latest family addition (the new student arrived safely this morning), man-child has wandered over to a friends for a drop of red and I am sitting down to enjoy a drop of red also, relaxing to some great music, smelling the wonderful aromas of dinner gently simmering on the stove.  Mmmm, red chicken curry.

Today has also included a flying trip to Ikea to get a desk and chair.  In the 90 minute round trip I managed to get the items I required, plus a laptop bag, 1 1/2 dozen glasses, a desk lamp, power boards, napkins for tomorrows picnic in the park if the rain holds off, as well as stopping by the florist for some much needed fresh flowers to brighten up the place.

Oh and speaking of tomorrows events, I have made Honey Joys to be taken into girl-child’s class to be shared by all (hooray for simple sweet food that meets the class allergy criteria list), and because they were so easy to make I made a second batch to be eaten in the park.  When that was done, girl-child and her friend and I made an ice cream cake for her party.  OK, so we didn’t actually make an icecream cake, we partially melted some ice cream, added choc ripple biscuit chunks and chocolate toffee pieces, poured it in to moulds to re-freeze ready for the party!  Now all that is left to do is chop up some fresh fruit and vegetables and the party food is covered.  As for activities I think I will take a pile of dress ups to the park and they can all run around as fairies, princesses, mermaids or puppy dogs and make their own fun.

The easy part is done, trying to get 8 hours of work done in 5 hours or less tomorrow will be much more interesting but it will be done.  Fingers crossed I will get a better sleep tonight and not one that is filled with dreams/nightmares of me being injured.  I dreamt the same dream over and over all night – Some incident would occur (the incident would change with each variation of the dream) where the outcome was me being taken to the hospital for xrays of a broken ankle.  Of course knowing that I didn’t have the time or energy to be injured I had the hospital staff put a cast on my ankle that was black.  I then put a heel on it so I could pretend it was a boot and I was able to go about my life and work unhindered.  Naturally my walk was very suspect and ungainly looking so people were always questioning me about my strange footwear.  I must have been holding my foot as if it was in a cast all night long because today my calf muscle is as fatigued as if I had run a marathon in ill-fitting shoes!

Hopefully sleep tonight, aided by a drink or three will be more relaxing and sleep like, ready for a day of celebrating girl-child’s 6th birthday.

Edited to add:  OK, so I am clearly not back to normal yet.  I decided that I should post a link to the Honey Joy recipe as I had touted it as being so simple and delicious for the kids.  Doing this I noticed that right at the top of the recipe it says Preheat oven to 150°C. Oops I forgot that part, I haven’t cooked them yet!  How awesome am I?  A simple 7 line recipe and I forget the first and last of them.  I had better go do that now before I forget again.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 18, 2009 in all about me, just a day

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Normalish?

  1. Ali

    October 18, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    I’m glad things are getting back to normal but, hon, that’s the funniest thing I’ve ever heard. You know something’s a little bit off if you forget to bake the baked goods. Get some good rest tonight.
    xx

     

Leave a Reply

 
