RSS

Deja Vu

15 Oct

Well I have just returned home from the hospital.  Man-child was finally being wheeled towards theatre as I left, a mere 16 hours after dislocating his elbow.  Further tests and scans have shown that not only was the joint dislocated but there were bone fragments and a fracture to deal with.

It all sounds so similar to the day dubbed as ‘Alexander and the No Good, Horrible, Very Bad Day‘.  A fall that resulted in an awkward landing and the arm hyper-extending then crunch, bones out of alignment.  The results of boy-child’s fall was a 3 hour surgery where the joint was relocated and the bones were screwed back together.  That was followed by months in a cast with him becoming depressed and forlorn, not knowing who he is or where he fits in.  It was probably one of the worst times of my life and I am more than happy to have (albeit temporarily it seems) moved on from there.

Man-child has done one better, whilst he is in surgery the plan is that he will have 2 screws and a plate attached to the radius, holding his arm back together.  I have no idea how long the surgery will be, when the kids will be able to visit or what will happen next.

When I told the kids this morning that their dad was playing copy-cat and that he had a dislocation just like boy-child the poor boy went white.  It was like he was reliving the experience.  I am expecting that he will struggle through this time more than the rest of us.

I was hoping that we could go visit this morning but unfortunately he was still in emergency waiting for a bed or surgery – which ever happened first and I really didn’t want the kids hanging around the trauma in an emergency ward.  Hopefully he will be out of recovery this afternoon and the kids can go visit whilst he is still high on pain meds and looking cheerful, unlike when I just visited.  I think it is going to be another long day and night.  Did I mention how much I love hospitals?

Updated to add – The hospital called to say that the surgery went well and that he is finally out of recovery and is back on the ward.  Man-child then called to say that the pain is insane but he was able to reassure the kids that he is fine.  It was perfectly bad timing that he came out of the surgery so late and the kids were already yawning, ready for bed and visiting hours were almost over.  They will have to wait until tomorrow to visit.  Perhaps I will even pick them up from school at lunch time so they can visit.  Now to get ready for netball and ponder how I will possibly work a split shift tomorrow?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 15, 2009 in all in the family

 

Tags:

One response to “Deja Vu

  1. Ali

    October 15, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    Oh no! I’m sorry. Will it affect his ability to work? I mean, of course he’ll have to have some time off but he doesn’t need both hands to do his job does he? How awful. Hugs for you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
