RSS

Early Nights

14 Oct

I am tired, really tired, ‘new parent with a baby who never sleeps’ tired except I am not a new parent I don’t have a new baby I am just tired, perhaps even exhausted.   So tired that I decided to forgo watching TV and decided to have a nanna nap and then go to bed early.  It was a great plan but as usual the universe is conspiring against me and sleep is not going to happen any time soon it seems.

First it was a friend dropping in to say Hi just as I was almost asleep on the couch making me say goodbye to the chance of a nanna nap.  This was followed by a phone call from my parents and I spent the next half hour playing ‘help desk’ bringing me to normal bed time.  During this call with my parents, I ignored a few phone calls.  Of course those phone calls were actually important, they were to tell me that man-child had fallen at basketball and had dislocated his elbow and an ambulance was on its way.

Well that was a few hours ago now, three hours in fact.  My neighbour dropped back and ended up sticking around to keep me company as I waited on news from the hospital.  There was an offer to look after the kids so I could go in to the hospital but I have spent enough time already this year sitting around hospitals unable to do anything so I politely declined.

Apparently as I type his elbow is being popped back into place and I am sitting here, barely awake wondering if he will be sent home or kept in overnight.  So now I wait and don’t sleep…

Updated to add – The ‘popping’ of the elbow wasn’t as smooth as planned – it didn’t work so that had to knock him out and do it under anesthetic.  He is back in x-ray seeing if there are any fractures or chipped bones that may need surgery!

Updated again – The xrays and CT scans have shown that there are bone chips that need removing so boy-child is fasting in preparation for surgery some time later in the morning.  He is currently trying to get comfortable on a narrow gurney in the hospital corridor as there are no beds available!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 14, 2009 in all in the family

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Early Nights

  1. Ali

    October 14, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    Oh no! I hope that he’s okay. Dislocation is soooo painful. He will need lots of looking after for a couple of days, I’m sure. Sitting around hospitals is awful. Boring as hell.

     
  2. Kayliaperhapsweleran.blogspot.com

    October 15, 2009 at 12:52 am

    Holy smokes woman!

    I hope Man-Child doesn’t suffer too much with the arm… yikes!

    And for goodness sake you need to get some sleep. Wish I could help…. Pack the Children (all three of them) off somewhere and send you to a spa or something!

    /hugs!

     
  3. Ellen

    October 15, 2009 at 6:47 am

    Send the kids to me for a few days! Or bring yourself…

     
  4. lou

    October 15, 2009 at 11:26 am

    Sounds like you need a holiday! One with a nice relaxing beach and happy hour.

     

Leave a Reply

 
