RSS

Week 9 and new hair

09 Sep

Today was the first day of week 9 in the couch to 5km running challenge, that is the first day of the FINAL WEEK.  Firstly I have to say WOOHOO – I have actually stuck with an exercise program for 8 weeks.  During that time I have only missed one day of running and that wasn’t because I was too lazy to get out of bed it was because I was already out of bed and at work before 6.30am.  On no planet it is right to get up to run for half an hour before a super early run so I attempted to run the following day but again work conspired against me and then we went away for the weekend and it rained so much that I thought I was going to be washed away!  Instead I postponed my Friday run until Monday making the start of the new running week occur on Wednesday.

It still messes with my head that my running week doesn’t coincide with a real week and in the past that would have been enough for me to throw in the towel and give up entirely.  That was about a month ago and I am still out and about bright and early trying to clock up the miles.  Week 9 brings 30 minutes of running with NO STOPPING.  Essentially I am lazy and am quick to find excuses for not exercising so I am pretty chuffed that I can now run for half an hour!

I checked mapmyrun.com to see how far I ran and at 28 minutes I was running just over 4.5km so by adding on the extra 2 minutes that will boost my run to almost the 5km suggested in the title.  I will have to map another marker to aim for to hit the 5km mark by this time next week.  Then what?  Do I continue at the 5km until I can run that distance or do I go a little further?  Should I add in another exercise program on the alternate days, perhaps go back to shredding?  Who knows what I will do next but I feel awesome having actually achieved something real.  Yay me!

And in completely unrelated news I HAD MY HAIR CUT LAST NIGHT.  People who actually know me know I haven’t been to a hairdressers in years so last night was a big step for me.  My hair has been coloured – yay no more grey, is about 6 inches shorter than it was and has layers.  It is all new for me and kind of exciting.  I tried to take a photo to show my pretty hair but the kids heard photo booth kick in to action so instead of showing you a photo of my new hair I leave you with this

My Monsters

My Monsters

and this!

Crazy Faces

Crazy Faces

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 9, 2009 in all about me, all in the family

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Week 9 and new hair

  1. Ellen

    September 9, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    Oh I bet you look gorgeous!! Free tonight? I might have to pop around for a look at girly you.

     
  2. lou

    September 9, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    Short hair is cool hair I say!

     

Leave a Reply

 
