RSS

Flashed Before My Eyes

09 Aug

In the early hours of the morning the closest I have ever come to having my life flash before my eyes occurred.   After spending an awesome night out celebrating 10 years (almost) since graduating I was getting a lift home with friends.  There were three of us squished into the ute, heading towards home.  The driver who hadn’t had a drink all night was driving safely through the city and suddenly there is a blaring of horns and a screech of brakes.  All of a sudden we were facing a different direction.  Luckily there was no sickening crunch of metal or breaking glass, only because our driver was a great defensive driver and was able to accelerate through the impending crash zone, as the taxi who had driven straight through the intersection continued on oblivious to the fact he almost caused a major accident.  I am so glad that our driver was such a safe responsible driver who whilst he was happy to hurl abuse at the taxi driver he wasn’t interested in doing anything other than getting us home safely.  It was a sobering moment.

Despite the adrenaline pumping drive home I had an awesome night out.  There were a dozen of the original 20 all catching up for a delicious dinner and far too many drinks.  Some of the guys I hadn’t seen in the 10 years since we graduated but quickly the banter resumed and it was as if we always went out for drinks together.  It made me realise that you don’t have to see someone everyday for them to be important to you.  I know that the guys I studied with with will always be a part of my life and hold a special place in my heart.  It was an intense time and I really can’t believe that it has been 10 years.

IMG_2448

Me being tickled by great mates

In actual fact, this time 10 years ago we would have all been sitting in the common room cramming for final exams.  We were all stressed and fragile yet we were supporting and encouraging each other.  We were plying our bodies full of chocolate and caffeine in an attempt to stay up even later and cram a few more random facts into our brains just in case they were on the exams.  Then walking out of the exams hoping and praying that all of the study would be enough, that we would all pass.  Crossing our fingers that we actually answered all of the questions in the exam, that we didn’t miss any pages.  Then standing around waiting.  Waiting to see if we had passed our exam in order to move on to the next unit of study only to begin the entire process again.  Lectures, practical assessments, study, study and more study until we all passed our final exams.

I am so glad that that part of my life is over.  I am glad that I can look back at the amazing friendships that grew during the stressful times of study and that my memories of that time are of the people and not the work.  I hope that we can all get together again some time soon.  10 years is far too long to have to wait.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 9, 2009 in all about me

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Flashed Before My Eyes

  1. Leiani

    August 10, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    Am very glad that you are ok after the near accident! What a way to end a fun night.

     

Leave a Reply

 
