RSS

Still Running

05 Aug

I haven’t mentioned it for a week or so, but I am still doing the Couch 2 5km running challenge.  I haven’t mentioned that it wasn’t as hard as I expected.  I mean, it still hurt but I was surviving.  In fact, last week during Week 3 I actually jogged more than was required because I felt like I hadn’t really exerted myself.  Lets just say that that lulled me into a false sense of security.  Week 3 consisted of two cycles of 90 second jog, 90 second walk, 3 minute jog and a 3 minute walk.  It seemed strange to go from a 3 minute walk into a 5 minute cooldown walk and that was where I inadvertently ran an extra 90 seconds and survived.  During week 4 I feel like I have been sucker punched.  After the standard 5 minute walk to warm up it was straight into 2 cycles starting with a 3 minute jog, a 90 second walk, a 5 minute jog with a 2 1/2 minute walk between the cycles.  Now for someone who is fit and runs regularly running for 5 minutes would be nothing but for someone as unfit as I am, 5 minutes is a really really long time.  Fortunately I can’t look ahead to see what world of pain I will be in next week.

I am kind of proud of sticking to the running plan for this long, I am almost half way to being able to run for half an hour and hopefully for 5km.

In other running related news, I would like to take the time to ‘thank’ the cyclist who was riding city bound and decided that it was an opportune moment to overtake a fellow rider, when facing oncoming traffic – namely me.  Thank you very kindly, I really appreciate being forced off a shared footway by an inconsiderate cyclist who is riding on the wrong side of the path.  I love running so much, even more when I am forced from the path and into the wet and muddy grass.  Again, thank you 😦

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 5, 2009 in all about me

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
