RSS

Choking on Pizza

30 Jul

Around here Thursday night is netball and poker night.  I head out for a game of netball and in my absence the house is overrun by poker players.  It is generally a good thing.  It is a safe and affordable night of entertainment for every one involved and the house is left in a decent condition most weeks.  I generally enjoy the company of the other poker players and as long as the kids are asleep before the game begins it really doesn’t matter how much noise they make or how obnoxious they are.  When I return from my game I may stay and chat a bit, occasionally sharing a glass of wine or two but most often I disappear upstairs to watch a bit of telly or catch up on some blog reading.  

With the madness of Thursday afternoon running around for dance lessons and the mad rush to feed the kids some dinner before it is time to go to netball I often don’t get time to eat a real meal myself.  (Playing netball on a full stomach is never pleasant, for me or the opposition.)  Tonight was one of those nights.  In the hour between getting home from dance and heading out again I didn’t have time to eat myself.  Naturally after the game I was hungry.  When I arrived home the poker guys were discussing what sort of pizzas to order.  I commented that I was starving and would eat any pizza without fishy bits and fungus.  Pizza orders were phoned through, for a pizza to my liking – meat lovers with extra chilli, as I left the room.  

When the delivery arrived, I waited a few minutes to let the mad rush on the pizza die down before going to grab a slice or two.  I grabbed the last slice that was sitting on a pizza box lid and took a bite.  Apparently that pizza slice was someone else second slice and there was no more pizza left.  As I had already taken a bite I continued to eat.  I figured that since I had actually requested to be included in the order I should at least get to eat some.  Man-child was upset that I was eating someone else’s pizza, I should eat his instead.  That made absolutely no sense, why return a now half eaten slice of pizza to someone who has already eaten a slice of pizza when he had another piece as yet uneaten on his plate.  Apparently it was his third slice so he really didn’t need it. 

Anyway, I guess what I am trying to say is the pizza that I stole nearly choked me.  I think I inhaled a piece of salami but perhaps the choking sensation was caused by the guilt of eating someone else’s food rather than as a result of the recurring sore throat thing as a part of the lurgy I still have?  Either way I am still hungry and I need pizza damnit.  

To cut to the chase I am sick of being forgotten or taken for granted.  Perhaps I am pissed off just for the sake of being pissed off.  Currently I am 2 floors away from where they are playing, wishing I were asleep and for some reason they seem much louder than usual and the laughter is more grating.  Yep, I think that I am pissed off and it is likely to remain that way for tonight at least.  Fingers crossed there won’t be a mess to wake to or there will be trouble.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 30, 2009 in things that make you go grrr

 

Tags:

3 responses to “Choking on Pizza

  1. Leiani

    July 31, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    Aaaahh…. husbands. Can’t live with them, but can’t live without them. Who would do all the spider removal and handyman stuff around the house then? Not me, that’s for sure!
    Hope things were better in the morning. Have a great day.

     
  2. trish

    July 31, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    I would have been p*ssed too …his attitude is very slack.
    I am glad you didn’t choke. Why should you have felt guilty anyway – he should have for dissing off on you.
    Hope you have a great weekend .

     
  3. AJ

    July 31, 2009 at 11:58 pm

    Completely justified in being sh*tty, it would have made me want to go around ALL their plates and take their pizza

     

Leave a Reply

 
