RSS

Waiting

14 Jul

Skip right on by if you don’t what to hear me moan and groan.

Knowing that this week my foreseeable future is going to be insanely busy I decided to be proactive last night.  I cooked three separate meals, last nights, tonights and even tomorrow nights so that at least we would have something decent to eat in the after school/after school activities madness.  If all goes to plan I will pick the kids up from school and rush to either work, sport or other after school activity almost every day.  We generally won’t be back until 5.30pm and by that stage the kids are likely to have joined me in the tired and grumpy camp.  At least now we will have dinner almost ready.  Continuing in my proactivity I even went to bed relatively early thinking that I would also be well rested as well as prepared.

It was a good thought and a great plan however the planets were poorly aligned and it just didn’t quite work out that way.  First there were the child wakings.  Although I didn’t have to deal with them, the stomping up and down the stairs at 3am were enough to wake the dead.  Finally the stomping stopped and the house resumed its silence but the cat was awake.  Of course 3am is the perfect time for a cat to have a wash, on the pillow beside my head.  She was swiftly relocated but soon came back seeking warmth and comfort.  Eventually she climbed under the doona so I couldn’t hear her purr or wash.  At around 3.30am I turned Dr Horrible back on knowing that I would be asleep within 3 tracks, not because I don’t like Dr Horrible but because I can lay with my eyes shut and still see what is happening as I listen.  In fact I have seen it so often that I could probably recite it unprompted!

I barely remembered listening to the intro music and I was out cold.  Unfortunately before I knew it I was awake again.  There was no light in the room so it was clearly too early to contemplate waking.  Time for more Dr Horrible and it was only 4.12am.  Again the music worked.

Then I was awoken by someone who need not remain nameless as he was the only other person in the room.  He was totally asleep and extremely gropey and bloody annoying.  A few kicks and he rolled over but I was awake – AGAIN.  Time for Dr Horrible again.  This time the magic was losing its amazing sleep inducing power and I actually watched Episode 1 and started Episode 2 before falling asleep again at some time around 5.  

The cat was removed some time between then and the alarm sounding.  Needless to say when the alarm did sound I was in no mood to get up or even be civil.  I am glad that I didn’t plan of doing day 2 of the couch to 5K this morning.  Instead I hang out washing, put another load in to wash, made lunches and prepared the after school snack bag.  Now I am waiting.  Waiting for the kids to wake.  Wondering if I should wake them.  It is 8.22am and there is no noise from them save the odd cough.  I think I will cook some toast for them and then go wake them, peel their jammies from them and try and dress them before rushing out the door.  I am expecting tears, lots of tears.  Wish me luck!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 14, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Waiting

  1. Ali

    July 14, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    Oh god. Sounds even worse than my last few nights, which have included a screaming wakeful fit from the littlest one. I had to look up Dr Horrible. Funny.

     
  2. Leiani

    July 14, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    Gee there goes my hope of getting more sleep as the baby grows up. I forgot that even older kids (and cats) plot to disrupt sleep.

    Luckily my older two boys are entering the teenage years where all they want to do is be in bed.

    I laughed at your list of random facts – so many of them could of been written about me!

    Hope the days goes well for you.

     
  3. Ashlea

    July 14, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    oh wow. Sounds horrible! You poor thing with waking up all the time.

    Hopefully tonight is a better one for you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
