RSS

And Rest

13 Jul

A friend who is a teacher commented yesterday that she wasn’t looking forward to today, to school resuming, wondering if that made her a bad teacher.  I responded with by telling her that I am looking forward to school going back.  Does that make me a bad mother?   

Anyway, today is the day.  Not only is it the day that school goes back, it is the day that I cling on to the wagon, trying desperately to get on board (again).  So at dark o’clock, I was up and out of bed, dragging my sorry arse around the river for day 1 of the Couch to 5K.  Did I mention that this was as dark o’clock and you know it was dark, really dark.  Oh and cold too only 6 degrees.    

I huffed and puffed my way around the track doing the prescribed walking and running, hoping that when my phone would ding to say that it was time for me to change activities I wouldn’t be passing other early morning nutbags.  The dings were in my favour this morning, not because my timing was impeccable but because there weren’t many crazy people out in the cold today.  I managed to run when I was supposed to, for the entire time.  I am feeling pretty good about that, it was a decent start to the day.  By walk/running the entire time I finished the loop quicker than I would normally run it, back in the days when I went running regularly.  Clearly, despite running regularly back then, I didn’t run quickly.  I am looking forward to actually being able to run the river loop one day.  All going well, that day will be in 9 weeks, just in time for the next lot of school holidays.

So here I am.  The sun has barely risen, the kids are up and about and hopefully getting dressed and ready for school, although judging by the sounds of stomping and thumping I can hear overhead they are more likely to b playing kamikaze off the bunks.   Here’s to a great term of predictability and routine where kids go to school on school days, weekends are for fun and all is well in the land of superRelish.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2009 in all about me

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “And Rest

  1. Leiani

    July 13, 2009 at 10:49 am

    Well done – you survived the holidays with sanity intact!

    My older two are at the grandparents for part of this week (WA holidays go till next week) so it’s just bub to look after at the moment. Makes a nice change to only have one noisy boy around!

    I too look forward to the start of school again, as although it’s fun to have last minute excursions and play board games till 11pm in the holidays, I WANT MY NORMAL LIFE BACK.

    With kids around, give me predictibility and routine anyday.

    BTW – also well done with the getting up early to run. Me – I am a snuggle in the bed till the last possible minute kind of girl. So no chance of me doing the same as you. I’ll just be your cheer squad. From the comfort of my own bed.

    Have a great day!

     
  2. AJ

    July 13, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    Here’s to a termwhich is drama free for you!!

     
  3. Mari Ickes

    July 15, 2009 at 10:39 am

    As a parent AND a teacher, I’m torn! I love being able to sleep in, but there are times that my children are driving me crazy!! Luckily, I still have about 3 more weeks until my summer holidays are over!

     

Leave a Reply

 
