RSS

The Wagon

23 Jun

You see there is a metaphoric wagon that I was riding along on, quite nicely too if I do say so myself, in a world where I was feeling fit, healthy, energised and alive.  Some time in the not too distant past, I fell off this wagon.  Actually, to be honest I didn’t fall, I took a giant leap from the wagon, landed awkwardly and lay sprawled on the ground for a while.

It wasn’t all that bad and as I said as a part of the discombobulation, I have had fun.  I have managed to see baby Billy kicking like a football superhero during Lil Sis’s ultrasound (all is going well thank you very much).  I then convinced my kids to take a day off school to visit nan and pop, giving me a Friday night to go out and have fun.  My night went from being a potential kid fest at home to a birthday dinner in the city with grownups eating delicious real food and drinking wine, it was fantastic.  The kids and my parents came back the following day, after we had a chance to sleep in and relax.  The remainder of the weekend was filled with more birthday celebrations and more cake as well as celebrating the arrival of Pommy Boy.  Three birthdays and far too much birthday cake and of course many glasses of bubbles is really no way to try and stay on the wagon.  

It didn’t help that I stopped Shredding around the same time.  My excuse at the time was not having to get up early because the kids were away and all of a sudden the habit was unformed.  One day without Shredding became a long weekend.  It really wasn’t worth Shredding for the rest of the week, I mean if you aren’t going to do it for the full week there really isn’t much point in doing it at all, right?  Now I have realised that it is really dark when I was getting up to Shred, oh and it is cold too.  My bed is toasty warm and did I mention that sleep is good?  

All that said, prior to stopping the Shred I had noticed that I was getting into shape.  I was starting to find muscle definition in my arms.  My clothes were fitting me better and I was feeling good about myself.  I don’t feel good about myself now, and not just this second after having eaten Indian food for dinner followed by a block of chocolate (I didn’t eat it all, just most of it) but for the past week or so.  It really isn’t just tonight’s food but my diet in general of late.  I forgot to buy more diet shakes so I ran out and ended up eating food that I shouldn’t.  I haven’t eating huge amounts of junk, but that combined with foods my body doesn’t tolerate and dramatically decreasing my exercise and all of a sudden I am feeling sluggish and heading back towards a frumpy square one.  

I really need to pick up the pace again to get back in to shape.  I should start Shredding again some time soon.  The thought of the pain that awaits me as I start back.  I think I want to do more than just Shred so I will work up the energy to start the couch to 5km some time soon to alternate with the Shred.  All I really need to do is to get started.   Just to support my resolve to get into shape, as I was typing this a tweet popped up linking me to this – Making the 30 Day Shred Easier on the Knees.  It is almost as if the internet was pre-empting my excuse list.  

Speaking of excuse lists, mine is quite extensive, I know that I need to start at the start of the week, it isn’t something that I can begin in the middle of the week, but then there are school holidays coming up and another birthday – more excuses as to why I shouldn’t start just yet.  Oh and we have an exchange student staying with us for a month and who really wants to embarrass themselves in front of new family/friends?  Hmmm, some time soon I will find a way to get back into shape.  At the latest I will begin the week that the kids go back to school.  It is still 3 weeks away but perhaps during this time I will find a way to improve my eating again or at the very least plan a way to climb back on the wagon and actually stay there.

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 23, 2009 in all about me

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “The Wagon

  1. Ali

    June 24, 2009 at 12:20 am

    I missed the wagon, planned to catch a later one, went into a cafe for a quick coffee while I waited, missed the next wagon and decided to go home and stay there curled up in a chocolate and cake induced coma. I think I will try and get on the wagon again next week.

     
  2. man-child

    June 24, 2009 at 1:32 am

    Do I need to get on the wagon with you…..

     
  3. Mari Ickes

    June 24, 2009 at 2:00 am

    Come on, Del. It is just 20 minutes. 20 minutes doesn’t have to be at the beginning of the week. Okay–I’m trying to convince myself as well! I started The Shred 2 Sundays ago-when the kids were with Grandma and Grandpa for a week. I stopped on Friday and am trying to convince myself to start back up again! Yesterday’s excuse was that I’d do it THIS morning before the kids woke up. The problem is the kids woke up first! Now, I’m reading blogs and playing on-line poker looking for excuses to wait until tomorrow!

     
  4. Leiani

    June 24, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    Hi – I am a long time lurker but thought I would finally say hi.
    I have also started to Shred recently – and ouch!
    Overdid it the first time and could barely walk the next day. That was enough of an excuse to not do it again for a week.
    Now trying to motivate myself again. Keep blogging of your progress (or lack thereof) as it helps make me feel I am not alone in my Shredding Troubles.
    Is it bad to have another cappacino and cake?

     
  5. Mari

    June 24, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    Well, I finally just finished The Shred-at 10pm, even though I had planned on doing it closer to 8am!
    Of course, I am on school holidays until August, so it isn’t as difficult for me to schedule it in right now.
    Good luck!

     

Leave a Reply

 
