RSS

Rewards

15 May

1740666305

I forgot to mention back here that the book I received for Mothers Day is this fantastic book.   The book is a beautiful collection of craft projects with simple step by step instructions.  You can find out more about the book at Meet Me At Mike’s

It has only been in my hands for a few days but I have been itching to get to work and make something.  Before I could start on something new, I needed to finish the projects that I had started last week before I could let myself start anything new, but more importantly I needed to clean my work space.  Now realistically that shouldn’t be too hard to do but in reality it was a nightmare.  

My work space is a study alcove off our bedroom.  It is large enough to house a work desk and an L shaped sofa bed (that I am proud to say I enjoyed a nanna nap on today) along with a couple of book cases.  It is also home to all the crap that doesn’t have a home anywhere else in the house, about 8 boxes of such crap.  After much sorting I found tools that belonged in the garage, lunch boxes (fortunately of the clean variety and not filled with unknown food items/science projects), random toys, dvds, phone chargers for phones that we no longer have, books, nail polish, craft items and hair accessories.  I could easily fill a page detailing more of the crap I found, but I think you get the picture.

Eventually all that was left was the huge pile of crap that belonged nowhere other than in the too-hard basket.  In my procrastination and immediate distaste for dealing with the mess that was remaining, I began doing ridiculous things like detangling the balls of wool contained within a storage crate and then re-rolling the wool until I had a pretty neat and organised pile.  

IMG_1530Look my pretty stockpile of wool, anyone would actually think I knew how to knit properly!

Anyway, eventually I managed to sort out most of the room (with the exception of the single crate of stuff that is now the one and hopefully only too-hard basket), including building a new storage shelf for more stuff so I can try to remain organised, neat and hopefully tidy.  

If I had taken before pictures I would have probably been too embarrassed to post them, the work in progress photos of clutter strewn about everywhere were even worse, but here are some happy pictures of my ‘creative space’ before I have a chance to destroy it again.sVCqqJ

Finally it was time to get to work and make.  This is what I finished, a ballerina moopy and a hat for one of the baby girls born into my life in the last few months.  WXJXL6

I still have to create characters for the final 3 girlie moopys, but that shouldn’t take too long.  

Next project?  I was thinking of making a softie wheat-bag friend to ease away the aches and pains of winter by loobylu or some yoga pants for happy babies in anticipation of Baby Billy by auntycookie.  Perhaps both, any suggestions?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2009 in just a day, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Rewards

  1. Ellen

    May 15, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    Do BOTH but… with me!

     
  2. Ali

    May 15, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    No suggestions but I love that you have a little nook like that! I have to get my machine out and then put it away each time I want to use it, very annoying.

     

Leave a Reply

 
