RSS

Avoidance Technique

29 Apr

Life goes on and nothing much is happening around here.  I could write about other side effects/complaints of chicken pox, or one-step-removed funeral planning, a boy who hates school or even about the joys of trying to entertain a pocky 5 year old who has far too much energy but the post would ramble and waffle and not make much sense or be worth reading.  Instead I am going to skip all the bleh and do a meme I found over at Living in the Gray and hopefully it is a little more interesting than drivel.

 

 

What are your middle names?

Us – Therese and Andrew  

The kids – Jay and George 

How long have you been together?

For over 15 years, we first kissed in October 1993, he moved in during 1994, we were married October 1999.

How long did you know each other before you started dating?

Just over 6 months, we met in late March 1993 at a mutual friends house.  He had a girlfriend so I had to bide my time.  

Who asked whom out?

We were actually good friends before kissing.  Our friendship would often involve discussions about his many failed attempts at relationships with random girls he met at clubs.  I knew what I wanted, I just had to wait.  Then one night out there was a friends sleazy boyfriend who kept trying to hit on me and the best way to avoid him was to kiss someone else.  The rest they say, is history!

How old are each of you?

I’m 34 and he’s 35.

Whose siblings do you see the most?

We see my sister the most, she is a regular part of our life.  Generally we see my family more as a whole despite them living many hours away.  

Which situation is hardest on you as a couple?

Time management… I guess trying balance everything; us, family, friends, work, life.  Everything is crazy busy.  It seems to be that when my world, work/life balance is great his is at a low and vice versa.  Fortunately we don’t often hit balance lows or highs together.

Did you go to the same school?

That would have been difficult.  I went to 3 different high schools but none of them were an all boys school!   

Are you from the same home towns?

He lived in suburbia and I grew up in a tiny town 3 hours away from where he lived.

Who is smarter?

Definitely him. But if you want anything done, you had better tell me!

Who is the most sensitive?

He is by far.  I commonly go by the name ‘heartless wench’!

Where do you eat out most as a couple?

We really don’t do the eat out as a couple thing, we never have.  If it is just the two of us we are more likely to order in and enjoy the peace and quiet, or to catch up with friends.

Where is the furthest the two of you have traveled as a couple?

As a couple probably Sydney, we didn’t really make time to travel.  Since the kids have come along the desire to travel and explore has increased so with the family we have been to the US.

Who has the craziest exes?

Not that there are many, but none of them are certifiably crazy.  I haven’t seen any of mine since breaking up with them.  It is probably crazy that I can name more of his exes than he can!

Who has the worst temper?

That would be me, but it does take a LONG time to really piss me off.

Who does the cooking?

Pre-kids it was shared, now it is mainly me unless barbequeing the meat is considered cooking when I have prepared everything else.

Who is the neat freak?

Both of us, sometimes, just never at the same time so nothing is ever as clean and tidy as it should be.  We clean in very different ways – He hides everything that is left out or is in the wrong place, I only hide the things that don’t have a right place.  As a result we can never find anything!

Who is more stubborn?

We both have our moments, but probably me.

Who hogs the bed?

Again probably me, but in my defense it is because I go to bed earlier most nights and like to lay in the middle of the mattress.  Our mattress is only new (an non-flip mattress) yet it already has valleys in it, I lay in the middle to try and equalise the unevenness.  If it isn’t the mattress unevenness that I am trying to stablise, I am hogging the bed to get away from the cat that sleeps on my head.

Who wakes up earlier?

Usually me, he does the whole snooze thing that drives me nuts.

Where was your first date?

Many moons ago I actually liked football so our first adventure together without the usual suspects we spent all of our time with was at the football, watching North Melbourne flog the Magpies at Victoria Park.  I don’t know if that can be considered a date though because it was months before the first kiss and my cousin was there too.  I guess our only ever real date was to go and see a comedy show – and that was most likely he was given free tickets and I am guessing that no one else wanted to go!

Who is more jealous?

We don’t really do jealous.  I get menu envy though, does that count?

How long did it take to get serious?

He was staying at my house within weeks of the first kiss, mainly as a convenience issue – I lived much closer to his uni than he did.  Within 6 months he was staying for 5 or 6 nights a week, just not paying rent!

Who eats more?

Finally an answer that isn’t me!

Who does the laundry?

Back to me generally.  That reminds me, I need to do some again eventually

Who’s better with the computer?

He is, but I maintain that it is because I don’t need to be, I use a mac!

Who drives when you are together?

Him, unless we are heading to visit my family and he almost falls asleep so I get the 3 hour boring drive on the highway.  That said, he is not the best passenger to have in the car so it is easier if he drives.

 

So there we have it another meme done and a bit of time filled in.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 29, 2009 in all about me

 

One response to “Avoidance Technique

  1. Shannon

    April 29, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    I laughed so hard at the Mac comment! I definitely agree with you on that one. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
