RSS

Day 1 and Back at Work

20 Apr

Well Day 1 wasn’t quite as successful as I had pictured.  I dressed in my running clothes as I set my alarm before bed, only I didn’t actually set my alarm for today!  And yes, I did just say I dressed in my running gear to go to bed.  I know it is a little abnormal, but I find that if I just get up and go as soon as the alarm goes off, I don’t have time to talk myself out of it.  Usually I am half a block away from home before I wake up so I just keep on going.  It may be lazy, but it is who I am.

Anyway I digress.  My alarm didn’t go off.  I awoke and the sun was already rising.  I knew that it was too late too go for a run.  I was still the first awake, so there was no mad rush to get everyone ready for the first day back at school and work.  I didn’t make time to run tonight, but I did eat well all day.  No snacking, no junk food, only shakes, fruit and vegetable and of course dinner.  I haven’t felt hungry at all and so far no sugar deprivation headaches.  It wasn’t the perfect day, but it was a decent start.

Thanks to friends who have offered to cheer me on as I begin this journey, your support is fantastic.  I hope not to bore everyone with the monotony that is likely to follow.  On a normal note, it was back to normal today.  Being back at work reminded me of exactly how dysfunctional my workplace is.  Fortunately both kids made it through the day at school and were both exhausted.  by 6.30pm both kids were in bed.  Girl-child was asleep in minutes and boy-child played quietly for a short time before falling asleep.  I have had a quiet evening in front of the tv, not snacking on chips or soft drink and I have been able to catch up with all that is happening in the real world.  I am down to single digits on my Reader, I hope I can finish reading before the battery runs out.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 20, 2009 in all about me

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Day 1 and Back at Work

  1. Ali

    April 21, 2009 at 1:49 am

    That’s funny. I have often done the get in my gym clothes before bed thing for the exact same reason.

    I am still carrying all of my baby weight but I must wait a little longer for my pelvis to settle before I can launch into the gym and stuff again. It sucks when you just don’t feel comfortable with your own body! I am not huge but I just want to feel good about my body again.

    Well done you. A good food day is a great start.

    Poor kids, back to school is hard, we still have a week of hols. Kill me now!

     

Leave a Reply

 
