RSS

One Last Hurrah

19 Apr

You know it is time to start getting into shape when

a)  Your kids call you chubby, in an oh-so endearing fashion

b)  You no longer fit into any of your clothes (including tops that you wore when pregnant and breast feeding

c)  You weigh more than the contestants on The Biggest Loser

d)  Your daughter comments on your chins – yep, plural

e)  All of the Above

You guessed it ALL OF THE DAMN ABOVE!

So tomorrow is the start of becoming the person that I feel I should be, the body that is hidden inside of all of this frump.  I know that meal replacements really aren’t the answer, but for me it will be a start.  I will use it as a way to limit my snacking.  Lil Sis gave me some meal replacement shakes in a recent pantry clean out.  I started them about a month ago and was pleasantly surprised at how satisfying they were, I didn’t feel hungry at all.  I was hoping that it would be a means to change my snacking habits, particularly after the last 3 weeks being forced to stay home with injured and unwell children.  

I have ordered the 30 Day Shred, but even with the mid-speed almost affordable international delivery, it is still likely to be a few weeks away.  In the meantime, I am contemplating starting the Couch to 5 km that I downloaded a few weeks ago, but we will see how I feel in the morning on that one.  

To celebrate my last day as a frump, I have managed to consume the remainder of the kids Easter chocolates and I begged girl-child to bring home some delicious jam donuts from the market.  Probably not the smartest thing to do, I know that struggling with a sugar low won’t be the most pleasant experience when coupled with a return to work and ushering the kids to school bright and early in the morning.  

Despite the potential struggle to find my real self in amongst the bleh, I am actually looking forward to feeling good in my own body again.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 19, 2009 in all about me, Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “One Last Hurrah

  1. Tanya Smith

    April 20, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    Good on you – I am more like 35kgs overweight and you are inspiring me

     
  2. Trish

    April 20, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    it is good you do it for yourself and not for anybody else.
    Go you good thing you can do it. We will cheer you on.
    There a few bloggers who started a weight loss blog encourage each other type thing …can’t remember the name but I if you are interested I’ll try.

     
  3. Trish

    April 20, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    ps …. not to give advice but for encouragement . I read this post just after I commented ..

    http://zenhabits.net/2009/04/going-from-fat-to-fit-for-good/

     

Leave a Reply

 
