RSS

27 Again

16 Apr

Well as of yesterday I am 27 again, and if I can count accurately, I have been 27 for a decade now.  For some reason I have been saying that I am 27 since I was 24.  I can’t remember why, or if there even was a reason in the first place.  From memory, being 27 was a great year so I am sticking with it.  Although it is kind of sad when I have to actually ask my daughter how old I really am!

So the day of my 27th birthday part 10 was actually a pleasant day.  I know that I shouldn’t sound surprised that it was a nice day, but I don’t actually enjoy birthdays.  More accurately, I don’t enjoy my birthday and surprisingly it isn’t about the whole getting old thing, although the latest crop of grey hair appears to be impervious to hair dye.  Grey hair and getting old aside, I don’t know why I don’t enjoy them, perhaps it is the feeling of anticipation combined with a fear of disappointment.  That doesn’t really sound right – nothing bad or overly disappointing has ever happened but it is an underlying emotion that I feel.  Perhaps it is all of the attention that birthdays bring, I really don’t like being the centre of attention.  I am much more happy skimming under the radar whenever I can.  

All of the extra attention is occasionally nice, but generally it is irksome, particularly when it involves phone calls and small talk about how wonderful the day is to people who don’t really care, yet feel obliged to call.  Facebook has a lot to answer for, more people actually remember birthdays now that a reminder pops up on their home page.  Fortunately most Facebookers just send messages rather than call.  I like messages, messages are good they show that people are thinking but not imposing.  

I have just re-read what I have written and I sound like a total prat and truly I am not, well not all of the time.  Perhaps it is best said that I don’t do small talk and to me, birthdays (particularly when they are your own) involve small talk.  Don’t get me wrong, I love talking, I just don’t feel like talking for no reason to a person that generally doesn’t care what the response it.  Crap, I am sounding like a prat again.  I will just move on to why yesterday was a particularly pleasant birthday.

The day started off with some sleep, boy-child slept from midnight until almost 7.30, so I managed to sleep too.  I was annoyed at waking for no reason at 6.30, but I did enjoy peace and quiet for a few minutes before the day began.  The morning was just like any other holiday morning, only quieter as girl-child had stayed at a friends house.  I did what any other normal parent would do, I celebrated by cleaning her room.

After an early lunch we wandered up to get girl-child and bring all the kids back here for a play.  The boys did their own thing on the Wii and the girls were drawing pictures.  They went over to the park to be able to draw in peace.  I was still in girl-child’s room, so I could watch them wandering back and forwards getting more supplies.  Eventually they came to get me to help them ‘carry something heavy’.  I grabbed my camera and over I wandered.

img_12571

This is what I found stuck to the pillar in the middle of the park.  

The kids and their friends were hiding behind the pillar and jumped out to ‘surprise’ me.  I love kids, they are what makes birthdays special.  They then told me that we were having a party, ‘do you have any party food we can use?’  So it was back home to chop up some fruit, cook some popcorn and open some chips.  Grown-up friends arrived during this impromptu party and the bubbles were opened.  Next thing I knew, another friend dropped by with all the makings for gourmet pizza.

Before I knew it, we were all sitting around around the table drinking bubbles, nibbling cheese and crackers with quince paste and devouring divine pizza – pumpkin, caramelised onion and feta with rocket – delicious.

 

img_1272

Delicious Bocconcini and Basil Tomatoes

 

img_1273Fantastic Pumpkin Pizza

 

img_1297Of course that was followed by cupcakes for all.

Looking back, it really was a spectacularly fine birthday.  

Tonight the ‘celebrating’ continues, with more delicious food – slow baked lamb roast with the neighbours.  I am starting to like birthdays, but why do we have to wait for a birthday to have such fun?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 16, 2009 in all about me, just a day

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “27 Again

  1. Ali

    April 16, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    Happy birthday! So glad you had a nice one. I know what you mean about making small talk with people on your birthday. I agree. You don’t sound like a prat.

     
  2. Kay

    April 17, 2009 at 1:43 am

    Happy Birthday! It looks like y’all had a great day!

    Oh… and you are not alone with he age thing… I turned 25 half way through my 19th year and kept the age of 25 until I was actually 27, skipping 26 completely.

    I am now 28 and mostly okay with being 28.

    Mostly.

     
  3. Karly

    April 18, 2009 at 3:19 am

    Happy birthday! I hate when people call me on my birthday too. My in-laws always call and sing and really? Is that necessary?

     

Leave a Reply

 
