RSS

One of Those Days!

27 Mar

The day started not unlike many others, the mad dash to get everyone to school on time with the appropriate bags, lunches and books.  It even started with no cursing under my breath or yelling at kids who were intent on ignoring every plead to hurry up I issued.  

It was almost pleasant, until I realised that it was a work day and then it all went downhill.  I don’t have the time nor the energy to write the full story just yet, there is too much emotion flying around in all directions, but if I copy my recent tweets here, it will explain my absence here and in lack of comments elsewhere.

  • Yay – at work and find out that other people haven’t done their job so now I have to fix their mistakes. It’s going to be one of those days. 
  • One catastrophe averted, only 362 kajillion to go.  I don’t even know where to start.  It is going to be a long, long day!
  • In hospital, boy child has broken his arm and waiting to see surgeon. A really long day ahead.
  • My boy is finally asleep. Now it is time to wait some more. Surgery is scheduled for some time around 5 (in 2 hours). My poor little boy.
  • The wait continues. My boy has just gone thru to theatre. Poor darling is terrified. Luckily the staff are fantastic.
  • My baby is just out of surgery. A bad break, a dislocation, a chipped bone held together with 2 screws. Can go see him soon.
  • The boy is finally out of recovery and on to a ward, although not awake yet. Time for me to try WMD get dome sleep too.  (Clearly overwrought and tired – I don’t even know what I was intending to tweet here)
  • Not much sleep to be had, but my boy is enjoying early morning cartoons in bed and munching away on fruit salad. Things are looking better!

So to summarise the last 36 hours.  I dutifully went to work and had barely started when I received a phone call from the school to say that boy-child may have broken his arm.  I quick trip to school and then off to emergency to wait around until they could operate to set his arm.  Finally he was in theatre at 7pm and remained in surgery until 9.45pm.  The break was worse than expected, with the entire tip of his elbow breaking off and needing to be screwed back together, a further chipped bone and a dislocated elbow were re-set.  There was extensive damage to the muscles and tendons around the joint and there could be further complication, we just have to wait and see.  Once he eventually awoke from the surgery, not much more sleep was to be had.  For the early part of the day he was comfortable, but the pain and discomfort increased throughout the day.  Man-child is with him tonight and I am at home, alone, wanting to get some real sleep, hoping that he will be OK to come home tomorrow.

So that is the cut and dry version of what has happened.  I hope to write the true story to express the emotions that have been on hyperdrive the past few days, but now it is time to hope for sleep.  Thank you to everyone who has tweeted, emailed or phoned their recovery wishes and thoughts our way.  Knowing that there are so many beautiful people out there who care has helped me through such a horrible situation.

 

In Recovery

In Recovery

Sleep well my beautiful little man, I will see you in the morning.  I love you.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 27, 2009 in all in the family

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “One of Those Days!

  1. Ali

    March 28, 2009 at 1:14 am

    Oh poor you! Poor baby. Having a sick or injured child in hospital is the worst thing. Hope he is home with you soon.
    x

     
  2. superrelish

    March 29, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    Thanks Ali. He is home and exhausted. I will find time to post about it soon, I just don’t have the time or energy right now.

     

Leave a Reply

 
