RSS

True Friends

19 Mar

I only had to work a few hours today, but they were inconvenient hours, between school pick-up and dinner.  Often I take the kids along to work with me as it is outdoors and near a playground.  It isn’t ideal but it works, otherwise I drop the kids and a picnic dinner at a friends workplace so they can play and eat until I am finished.

Today, I planned on taking the kids with me as I could be there and back in little more than an hour and a half and it wouldn’t be too inconvenient.  Fortunately for the kids we didn’t even have to do that.  A friend dropped over and another friend was going to drop by later in the afternoon to use my sewing machines and they offered to stay there so the kids could stay.  Needless to say, they were ecstatic to not have to go to work with me.

My usual plans for a rushed dinner after late work is beans on toast, something from the slow cooker (if I am organised) or left-overs followed by some fruit.  My wonderful friends took it upon themselves to prepare dinner for the kids and for us all.  To my delight, when I returned the kids were happy, fed and reading books.  All that was left was the trek up the stairs to get them ready for bed.  

After the friend debacle of late, it has been great to enjoy the company and reliability of true friends.  People who instinctively know when to step in and help, and how to help without being intrusive.  Of course they are also great company.  Thank you and hoorah for great friends.  

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 19, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “True Friends

  1. FFG

    March 20, 2009 at 8:20 am

    Thank GOD for great friends! They make life a million times better.

    If I were you, I’d offer the sewing machine up all the time. Hmm… I have one that is never used, perhaps, I could find people to borrow it. 🙂

     
  2. Ali

    March 20, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    That IS lovely. Just what you needed it sounds like!

     
  3. Ellen

    March 21, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    Thanks for the lend of your machine (sorry I broke it). I LOVE spending time with you and the kids. That is an easy part of my life. I really LOVE it!! Any time friend!!!!!

     
  4. Ellen

    March 21, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    PS… This was the final post to read in my reader and it sure made me feel good. Hugs!

     

Leave a Reply

 
