RSS

Overly Emotional

16 Mar

Clearly I am overly emotional today.  It wasn’t even lunch time and I had almost cried three times.  Now I have been known to cry quite easily, but generally I am known as a heartless wench so todays almost tears were very unexpected and in unusual circumstances.

  1. Standing in the crowded hall at school assembly waiting for the National Anthem to be played.  There was a deviation from the norm, instead of the anthem being played on cd and everyone singing along, two students played the keyboard and another student sang and we all accompanied them.  Seeing a young girl stand in front of her peers singing so proudly was a beautiful sight.  It made me proud to be an Australian and a part of a diverse multicultural community.  I began singing along and found that I could barely get a sound out, my throat was closing over with emotion and the room blurred.  I had to take a few deep breaths and blink repeatedly to be able to continue singing.  
  2. Still in the hall for assembly I watched a friend have her head shaved to raise money for Leukemia as a part of the World’s Greatest Shave.  The entire school clapped and cheered as her hair was firstly cut and then shaved.  She went from having beautiful thick shoulder length hair to a very short number 2 all over and looks fantastic.  Knowing that someone could be so selfless was a beautiful and moving sight.
  3. In this instance, almost crying was to be expected – it was as a result of chopping too many onions.  I am trying to ensure we eat reasonably well this week so I started to make a ginormous chicken and kumera curry.  (Note to self, ginormous meal = gigantic quantities of ingredients.  Lots of onions increases the chances of onion eyes.)

Despite number 3 being an expected ‘almost cry’, it has surprised me at how close to the surface tears are at the moment.  Fortunately they are tears of overwhelming beauty and the kindness of the human spirit.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 16, 2009 in all about me

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Overly Emotional

  1. Ali

    March 16, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    Sometimes it’s good to have a little weep. We all need it from time to time!

     
  2. Kay

    March 17, 2009 at 2:02 am

    Wow… that shave thing is amazing!

    It almost made me cry way over here!

     

Leave a Reply

 
