RSS

Worlds Collide

10 Mar

I have to say that I like it when my worlds collide.  Any event that we host always has a very diverse range of people who attend.  Both man-child and I have worked in a number of different locations and still keep in contact with many people from former work places.  We both play different sports and are involved in a number of groups.  Throw into the mix the kids and their friends, people that they share after-school activities with and friends made way back when they were babies and the number of potential invites grows wider by the minute.  Add in friends from my child hood who I still see and of course the neighbours and all of a sudden the mix is even more eclectic.  I love the diverse mix of people that we spend time with and I love seeing different circles of friends melding and mixing and enjoying each others company.

Now just because I love this concept of worlds colliding in real life it doesn’t mean that I am ready for it here, in my own little world of blog.  This is a place that I get to be me, a place where I can share and of course vent.  Of late it has really become a place that I can vent, where I can air any dirty laundry.  With each load of dirty laundry aired here, my head space is cleared and I feel stronger and more capable of continuing.  I love the community that blogging inspires and being a part of it all, having friends in all corners of the world as well as on the other side of town.  I love being a part of this little on-line community and want to be a part of something like a BlogHer conference or an Aussie equivalent if one were to occur.   With this in mind, I have made a concerted effort to add Aussie Bloggers to my Reader, and this is where my dilemma lies.

A blog I have recently started following lurking at Meet Me At Mikes, a great blog that features all sorts of inspirational craft, random links, great photos and information about events in Melbourne.  One of the latest posts is all about Words and Pictures and more importantly it is a project for anyone to participate in where you write a piece about a set theme.  I read the post about the first theme ‘School Lunches’ and thought Hey, I can do that.  I even started pre-planning what I was going to write.  Of course that was as far as I made it, I was side tracked and ended up flicking through my Reader.  I found that another blog that I follow lurk on is taking part in the project.  Normally I would say that that would be a good thing, but this other blog writer happens to be a person I know IN REAL LIFE, in fact I walk past her house almost daily as I take the monsters to school, her son is in the same class as girl-child.  

Now as happy as I am to have worlds collide, I’m not so happy for my worlds colliding in a way that will allow my dirty laundry to be aired and shared amongst the school parents as everyone waits to pick up their kids each day from school.  I think that knowing that someone local knows all my dirty secrets will not allow me to use this space the way in which I have – as my safe space to be me.  I am just not comfortable enough within this online world, or in this real world, to let this collision happen.  At least not yet, although I may just do the writing projects, just for fun – who knows?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 10, 2009 in all about me, over-share

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Worlds Collide

  1. FFG

    March 10, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    I know how you feel. Some people I know read my blog, but I would rather keep it separate from my real life. I feel awkward when friends mention that they have read it and I rarely air my laundry on there.

     
  2. Ali

    March 11, 2009 at 12:50 am

    Snap! I’m having some real-life/blogging collisions in my world at the moment. I don’t know if I’ll ever be ready for them to collide. I need my blog and I’m worried it would be compromised if everyone knew about it. I agree with you!

     
  3. pip

    March 11, 2009 at 7:39 am

    Hah! My worlds collide all the time! People come into the shop and ask how our Crock-Pot dinner was from the night before… that sort of thing. I really don’t mind. It’s all on the table here, mess and all – and I think it’s nice for people to know that life is not perfect and sometimes I am still in my pjs at 11am! But I totally GET what you are talking about – I really do. Privacy is a nice thing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
