RSS

Secrets

05 Mar

I really don’t enjoy knowing secrets, especially when said secret is exciting and it isn’t mine.  I want to share the joy of the secret but know that I can’t, that it isn’t my secret and therefore it isn’t mine to share.  Well for the past few weeks I have been burning with the excitement of knowing a secret.  Today is the day that I can share the joy of that secret.

This chapter of the story starts 2 weeks ago when I received a text message from lil sis saying ‘Hey I think you’re going to be an aunty…’  I was so excited I wanted to sing and dance and tell the world, but I couldn’t.  It was still early days, barely 6 weeks.  After the sadness of watching her struggle with being pregnant and finding out she wasn’t pregnant all in a matter of days, I didn’t want to make too big a deal of it and I know that she didn’t want to get her hopes up again, just in case.  So I waited and waited and waited.

Today mum and I joined lil sis at the pathologists office for her ultrasound.  I was so nervous for her.  We went in to the tiny little cubicle with her for her scan.  From the time she climbed up onto the examiners bed, I think I held my breath.  Now I have no idea about what to look for in an ultrasound, but when I saw a tiny little blip blinking rapidly, I was convinced that it was a good sign and I began to breathe again.  The little blip turned out to be little ‘Billy’s’ heart beating at a steady 174  beats per minutes.  Billy is perfectly sized to be 8 weeks, making the due date in mid-October.  

Lil Sis isn’t telling the entire world about Billy just yet, only family and close friends know.  She is hoping that her man will have arrived before she tells everyone, but the international move is taking longer than expected with the slowing of the economy and I think that she will be showing before he arrives.  Despite her not telling everyone just yet, she did tell the monsters so it won’t be long until the world does know, therefore I don’t feel bad sharing my excitement with my world – I am so excited, I can’t wait.  In just over 5 months I am going to be an aunt!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 5, 2009 in family & friends everywhere

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Secrets

  1. Kay

    March 6, 2009 at 4:32 am

    Gratz! (to both of you!!)

    Happy thoughts for a healthy time of it!

     
  2. Sarah, Goon Squad Sarah

    March 6, 2009 at 11:28 am

    Congrats!

    I love being an Aunt.

     
  3. Ali

    March 7, 2009 at 12:55 am

    congratulations, that’s so exciting. I love my 2 nephews.

     
  4. FFG

    March 8, 2009 at 11:36 pm

    How wonderful! That kind of news is hard to keep quiet about. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
