RSS

A Burned Bum

28 Jan

Everywhere I look online, there are comments about the weather.  Most of the blogs I read are written by people in the northern hemisphere and refer to snow days, being stuck inside, freezing cold and other wintery craziness, including ice pellets.  Well that isn’t me.  

I have just gone upstairs to tuck the monsters into bed, and after doing so, realised that their rooms were quite freaking ridiculously hot.  So hot that boy-child has actually taken an ice pack to bed with him!  I turned on our very expensive and very very mediocre craptastic air conditioning to see if it would alleviate some of the stifling heat.  Logic would say that it should have been on all day to prevent such heat, but logic would also dictate that an air conditioner should actually air condition when it is more than 35 degrees outside instead of packing it in and going on strike!

Anyway, knowing that it wasn’t likely to do much I wandered up to the top floor to turn on the extra air conditioner to see if some cool air would trickle down the stairs to their rooms.  I had to walk past my ensuite in order to get to the air conditioner and it reminded me that I needed to use the bathroom.  In I go, as usual wearing no shoes and my feet started to burn on the ceramic tile floor.  Did  I turn around to jump back on the carpet to relieve my burning feet from the searing heat?  Hell NO – I chose instead to quickly drop my duds, sit on the loo and lift my feet up to prevent them from burning.  Gee that was clever, the toilet seat was searingly hot and by now I really had to pee.  

So post pee, trying to pull up pants and escape from the heat box that is the ensuite, I managed to burn my feet again.  No time to stop and wash, it was downstairs to a real bathroom with taps for washing and cold water to soothe burning appendages! 

Once soothed, I decided to check the actual temperatures in the house.  Front of house, 33.2, back of house, 34.6, both recorded in the downstairs section that feels cooler and has ceiling fans.  The top floor, 43.8 (that is over 110 F) measured just outside the ensuite where it feels a darn sight cooler.  Inside the ensuite, in a room that is large enough to house nothing more than a toilet, shower and vanity and that is built into the roof space, on the northern side of the house that cops all of the afternoon sun, it was a hell of a lot hotter.

OK, so this post has been an over-share, but I never thought that going to the loo could be so difficult in a completely obscure and random kind of way.  Looking at the weather predictions, 43 degrees expected tomorrow, I don’t think I will be using that bathroom for the next few days.  Or I will forget entirely and burn my bum again!

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 28, 2009 in over-share

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “A Burned Bum

  1. Sarah, Goon Squad Sarah

    January 29, 2009 at 12:29 am

    Not that I envy your burned bum, but I wish we could trade places for maybe 15 minutes. Then we could both regulate our temperatures.

     
  2. Lea White

    January 29, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    That is hot!!! And I thought I was hot here with our 24 degree weather :-).

    PS I gave you an award over at my blog!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
