RSS

Why Procrastination Is Bad

16 Jan

OK, so everyone knows that you shouldn’t procrastinate, but it is oh s0 nice to sit and do nothing for as long a time as possible.  The results of my procrastination kept me up late last night, and subsequently all I want to do now is procrastinate even more.

You see, the monsters are both doing a drama class this week and the theme is ‘Around the World’.  Now the final day of classes involves a mini performance and most kids choose to dress according to the theme.  Now the theme was announced months ago so that has given me plenty of time to think about what we have on hand for them to wear.  I thought about it, and just assumed that their kimonos would be suitable.  Well they would be suitable a) if I could find either of boy-childs or b) if girl-childs fit her.  I forgot that I made it for her when she was 2!

After class yesterday it was time for another clean out of the dress up boxes but still no joy.  Boy-child did find a Japanese inspired costume that he loves and was happy to wear, he also found a traditional Thai costume if he changed his mind.  No such luck with girl-child, I can’t believe just how much she has grown, and I mean lately not just in the 3 years since I made her kimono.  

We stopped at a fabric shop and found some suitable (read: cute AND cheap) fabric, we also found a fantastic and totally unnecessary umbrella.  Instead of going home to sew, we went to the park for hours.  By the time we got home, it was time for the usual evening rush and before I knew it, it was almost 9 and I hadn’t started making the kimono.

As I wandered upstairs, boy-child stirred and wanted to talk.  He told me he was excited about the performance, but not about what he was wearing.  Without using so many words, he said he loved the fabrics we bought today, even if they all had flowers on them, he would wear something made from it.  I guess he felt neglected because girl-child had a new umbrella and a new kimono and his favourite costume was still dirty (but wearable).  I said I would see what I could do to make him something too.

Gee, 9pm is such a great time to start making 2 costumes.  Luckily I found some fabric that was left over from a few dresses and made him a happi coat so he could be a ninja warrior.  Eventually both costumes were made and sleep was ready to be had, at 1am just as man-child returned home from poker.  

So as a result of my weeks and months of procrastination, I am now tired and want to sleep but instead I have to go and see the performance.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 16, 2009 in randomness, the monsters

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Why Procrastination Is Bad

  1. Face Poker

    February 4, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    I have looked over your blog a few times and I love it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
