RSS

End of Year MeMe

31 Dec

So I am feeling a little better now, the house looks a little less like a war zone.  In fact the bottom level is kinda nice to look at for now, so at least walking back in the front door is appealing again.  A friend dragged me out for a spot of retail therapy, that wasn’t very therapeutic as nothing fits, but it was out and that is good.

I have decided to finish the year with a meme that I have seen of a few of regularly visited sites, Chatabox and All and Sundry

 

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?

Jumped out of my comfort zone and joined in unknown activities.


2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I’m not so good at setting resolutions, I do however like to start new things at a specific point, be it the start of the week, month, season, so no doubt I will try and start something new this year.  Perhaps I should make a resolution to play wii fit daily, that way I am setting myself up for some fun and potentially some health benefits too. 

 

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Who didn’t?  There were babies everywhere this year and next year looks to be another baby boom too.

 

4. Did anyone close to you die?

My aunt, very recently and still painful.

 

5. What countries did you visit?

Now I wish that I had done this meme any other year, I haven’t been anywhere this year.  Perhaps when I do this next year I will have something interesting to list.

 

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?

Time to actually finish projects properly.  Things are done but given a little more time (or better time management?) they would be done better and be something to be really proud of.

 

7. What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

Nothing overly significant, plenty of stuff has happened but not life changing in any way.

 

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Running major projects from start to finish, naturally under-resourced but still getting everything done.

 

9. What was your biggest failure?

Not keeping on top of everything.

 

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Injury – cracked a rib in a bike riding incident (at work!)

 

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Does renovating count?  If so, the back yard renos, including the outdoor setting.  Otherwise my new bed – oh so comfortable.

 

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

My sister, leaving her comfort zone by traveling to the UK to be with her man.

 

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

I don’t really follow celebrity stuff ups and local bad behaviour isn’t so interesting but friends who take and take and take and give nothing are depressing.

 

14. Where did most of your money go?

Everyday living and renovating.

 

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Finishing another installment of renovations. 

 

16. What song will always remind you of 2008?

Curiosity (if that is the name of the song?), by Coby Grant.  See # 25

 

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder?
b) thinner or fatter?
c) richer or poorer?

Overall I am happier, but the instances/people that make me sad have had a greater impact.  I have definitely spent this year in a good paddock and I am fatter, much fatter – perhaps I should have a resolution to get into shape!  Richer or poorer is hard to measure, my access to cash is much more limited, but I perceive no need for real money in 2009 so financially it shouldn’t be a big year.

 

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

It sounds ridiculous, but I wish I had spent more time regularly to keep the house organized instead of waiting until I was living in a bomb site before making time to clean.

 

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Cleaning a house that looked like a bomb site!

 

20. How did you spend Christmas?

Christmas began on Christmas Eve with my family here, Christmas morning was more gift giving and a huge brunch and the afternoon was spent at the outlaws.

 

21. Did you fall in love in 2008?

Already in love…

 

22. What was your favorite TV program?

Rush – An Aussie police drama was added to my existing list of favourites, including Bones, Gossip Girl, NCIS

 

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

Hate is probably too strong, but there are a few people that have headed in that direction.

 

24. What was the best book you read?

I read almost anything, so there are too many books to list them all.  Books I have enjoyed the most are

 

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Coby Grant.  After a spot of shopping at the Vic Market in Melbourne we decided to stop and have a rest as the stage was being set for live entertainment.  Coby Grant came on and played and she was fantastic.  We couldn’t stay to listen to the entire set (damn parking restrictions) so we purchased her ep.  It has been on high rotation ever since and is girl-childs favourite.  Coby is an independent singer/songwriter who is now based in Melbourne. 

26. What did you want and get?

Renovations.  I really should post pictures!

 

27. What did you want and not get?

A trip o/s with work, but there is always 2009….

 

28. What was your favorite film of this year?

Dr Horrible’s Sing Along Blog.  It has been watched and watched and watched some more!

 

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I was 27 again.  For some reason I have been 27 for 9 years now, since I was 24.  In real world terms I was 33.  I have absolutely no idea what I did for my birthday, but I can tell you what I did to celebrate for every other family member’s birthday.

 

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Being sponsored for a work trip to Japan – despite being qualified there was no appropriate industry placement so I didn’t get sponsored.

 

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?

Fashion concept – I have no fashion concept.  These days if it fits I wear it, unfortunately that doesn’t leave me with much.  If I had to describe it, it would be comfortable and casual. 

 

32. What kept you sane?

Internet access, being able to keep in contact with people everywhere at any time as well as making friends with people online.

 

 33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

David Boreanaz from Bones – his character is so strong and dependable yet vulnerable, it helps that he is hot!

34. What political issue stirred you the most?

A local issue – to stop a major road tunnel being built ‘in our backyard’.  The tunnel would destroy 4 major parklands areas in the inner suburbs and be a construction zone for many years.  Hooray – we won the fight.

 

35. Who did you miss?

My little brother, he doesn’t get a chance to visit with family and old friends much due to personal circumstances.

 

36. Who was the best new person you met?

A work colleagues who joined the team who knows how to work and have fun.

 

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008.

An oldie but a goodie, ‘Life is short, have fun.’

 

 

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

 

Song lyrics, I don’t even know song names or artists, how am I supposed to know lyrics?  I don’t sing!

 

So that is 2008 for me.  Not so exciting but still significant.  Fingers crossed for a great 2009 for us all.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 31, 2008 in all about me

 

One response to “End of Year MeMe

  1. ElilajamElede

    February 17, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    Hello, I can’t understand how to add your blog ( myrelish.wordpress.com ) in my rss reader
    ————————
    ad: http://potet.ru/

     

Leave a Reply

 
