RSS

Creepy Crawlies

03 Nov

Well I am afraid to admit that girl-child really is a girlie-girl.  It isn’t that the 12 changes of clothes per day gave it away, nor was it the desire to carry a handbag everywhere.  It wasn’t that she loves co-ordinating her hair accessories with her outfit or that she loves to wear make-up at every opportunity.  No the giveaway sign came last night when she saw a cockroach skittering along the fence.  The girlie screech was unmistakable.

On another girlie creepy crawly topic, she was scratching at her head last night.  A quick inspection showed a small collection of what could only be nits.  Now I have never experienced nits before, not even as a child.  I put this down to the fact that I never had hair clean enough for anything to want to move in.  I have tried to use this same theory with my kids.  So far it has worked really well, unfortunately girl-child had a casting last week so I had to wash her hair.  What do you know, the first time she has clean hair she gets an infestation.  

So today, a student free day and therefore a day off work for me, was spent washing the kids hair and then combing and combing and combing for dead creepy crawlies or their eggs.  Girl-child’s hair is kinda long, to the middle of her back so it took hours!  Hooray, it was so much fun.

It is now back to dirty hair and constant braids or buns.  Even after treating my own hair and knowing that there is nothing living in it, I can still imagine something crawling around.  Ewww…

(I have been trying unsuccessfully to insert photos into the post showing a typical hairstyle, but for some reason it isn’t working.  I may try again later.) 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 3, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Creepy Crawlies

  1. marc

    November 4, 2008 at 12:52 am

    You should visit http://www.andreasbeau.com for some exquisite hair accessories that your daughter will love.

     
  2. Ashlea

    November 4, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    Nits are terrible. I had long curly hair as a child and i loved having it out. I can still remember the smell of that horrible shampoo…..

     

Leave a Reply

 
