RSS

Accountable

14 Jul

OK, so now it is time to start being more accountable to myself.  I am sick of feeling blah all of the time.  It is time to start being proactive, exercising and eating well and making changes in my life.

I am off to a good start, I woke this morning and went for a jog.  Actually, if I am going to be accountable, I should say I went for a walk but jogged part of the way.  I really didn’t run far, but 1km or so is better than nothing.  My alarm is set for 6.15 in the morning to get up and run again.  In fact it is set for tomorrow, Wednesday and Thursday.  I thought about setting it for Friday too, but then thought that I could be setting myself up for failure.  4 days of actually getting up is a start, perhaps in a week or so I will actually start running more of the distance.

Now it is time to get the eating into perspective.  I don’t eat wheat products due to a gluten intolerance and I shouldn’t eat  I also have a lactose intolerance but can’t possibly give up eating everything that tastes like food.   I do eat reasonably well most of the time, but chocolate is my downfall.  I love chocolate.  

I love chocolate so much that the kids automatically give me any chocolate that they find in lolly bags from a party they attend.  It isn’t uncommon for me to eat an entire block of chocolate in one sitting and want for more.  I am not capable of having only one piece of chocolate, I need to eat it all NOW.

That being said, I have decided to give up chocolate for a month.  Yep, a whole month.  I tried last week and made it 4 days and then lost will-power at the snow, chocolate was the lesser evil – everything in the bistro was full of gluten and had a queue of at least 1/2 an hour to be served.  

I have started again, I haven’t had chocolate in over 30 hours, and that is 30 hours knowing that there is a bag of delicious chocolate covered frogs in the cupboard, in plain view whenever I open the door.  It may not sound like much, but I feel like it is progress.  Small steps but steps in the right direction none the less.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 14, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Accountable

  1. Suze

    July 15, 2008 at 10:12 am

    You’re a brave, brave woman for getting up at 6.15am. I can hardly drag myself out at 7.30.

     

Leave a Reply

 
